Buy CD at:

Howe Records is pleased to release, for the first time ever, Howard Shore’s complete original score to David Fincher’s renowned film SE7EN, containing over 60 minutes of original music by Shore. Contributing newly commissioned liner notes for this release is noted film historian and author Peter Cowie. He states: “When heard on its own, Shore’s score becomes even more intense and unnerving. It clasps the viewer in a deadly, serpentine embrace, forcing one to confront the malevolence of ‘John Doe,’ the serial killer stalked by detectives Mills and Somerset. Brass, woodwind, strings and timpani weave an abiding spell that would serve as the perfect accompaniment to a screen version of Dante’s Inferno, drawing one down inexorably from one circle of Hell to the next.”

HOWARD SHORE is one of today’s premier composers whose music is performed in concert halls around the world by the most prestigious orchestras and is heard in cinemas across the globe. Shore’s musical interpretation of J.R.R. Tolkien’s imaginative world of THE LORD OF THE RINGS and THE HOBBIT, as portrayed in the films directed by Peter Jackson, have enthralled people of all generations for years. This work stands as his most acclaimed composition to date awarding him with three Academy Awards, four Grammy Awards, two Golden Globes.

In July 2016 Shore was honored to receive the Locarno Film Festival’s Vision Award. He is an Officier de l’ordre des Arts et des Lettres de la France and has also been recognized by Canada with the Governor General’s Performing Arts Award. The National Board of Review of Motion Pictures honored Howard Shore with an award for Career Achievement for Music Composition, he received The Recording Academy Honors, the City of Vienna bestowed him with the Max Steiner Award, and has received numerous other awards for his career achievements.

Perhaps most notable from his early career, Shore was one of the creators of SATURDAY NIGHT LIVE and served as musical director from 1975- 1980. At the same time he began collaborating with David Cronenberg and has since scored 15 of the director’s films, including THE FLY, CRASH and NAKED LUNCH. He was awarded Canadian Screen Awards for MAPS TO THE STARS for score and COSMOPOLIS for both score and song. His original scores to A DANGEROUS METHOD, EASTERN PROMISES and DEAD RINGERS were each honored with the Genie Award. Shore continues to distinguish himself with a wide range of projects, from Martin Scorsese’s HUGO (Oscar & BAFTA nominee), THE DEPARTED, GANGS OF NEW YORK and THE AVIATOR (for which he won his third Golden Globe Award) to ED WOOD, SE7EN, THE SILENCE OF THE LAMBS (BAFTA nominee), PHILADELPHIA, MRS. DOUBTFIRE, and his score for Tom McCarthy’s Academy Award-winning film SPOTLIGHT.

Other recent works include the piano concerto Ruin and Memory for Lang Lang (2010), the song cycle A Palace Upon the Ruins featuring mezzo-soprano Jennifer Johnson Cano (2014), Six Pieces (2014), a cello concerto Mythic Gardens (2012), and Fanfare for the Wanamaker Organ in Philadelphia (2008). His opera, The Fly (2008), which premiered at the Théâtre du Châtelet in Paris and at Los Angeles Opera, recently completed a successful run in Germany at the Theatre Trier. His chamber music album “A Palace Upon the Ruins—Selected Works” will be released on November 4, 2016.

SE7EN Track Listing:
1. The Last Seven Days
2. Gluttony
3. Linoleum
4. Somerset
5. Greed
6. Mrs. Mills
7. Help Me
8. Sloth
9. Library
10. John Doe
11. Apartment #604
12. Lust
13. Pride
14. The Wire
15. Envy
16. Wrath

# # #

The American Federation of Musicians

Howard Shore, Leader
Lucas Richman, Leader
Sandy DeCrescent, Contractor
Robert Adcock
Richard Altenbach
Phillip Ayling
Phil Azelton
Rick Baptist
Rebecca Barr
Timothy Barr
Steven Becknell
Arnold Belnick
Emily Bernstein
William Bing
Sarah Bonebrake
William Booth
Gary Bovyer
Thomas Boyd
Jacqueline Brand
Robert Brosseau
Denyse Buffum
Larry Bunker
Darius Campo
Lily Chen
Charles Coker
Antony Cooke
Matthew Cooker
Douglas Davis
Mario De Leon
George Dillon
Louise Ditullio
Bonnie Douglas
David Duke
Bruce Dukov
Steve Edelman
Arni Egilsson
Christine Ermacoff
Alan Estes
Charles Everett
David Ewart
Marlow Fisher
Michael Fisher
Ronald Folsom
Bruce Fowler
Simon Franglen
Robert Frear
Berj Garabedian
Pamela Gates
Rick Gerding
Julie Gigante
Suzanna Giordano
Pamela Goldsmith
Gregory Goodall
Steven Gordon
Gary Gray
Daniel Greco
Keith Greene
Rowena Hammill
Jennie Hansen
Clayton Haslop
Tamara Hatwan
Amy Hershberger
Oscar Hidalgo
Carrie Holzman-Little
Barbara Hunter
Patricia Johnson
J. Tommy Johnson
Karen Jones
James Kanter
Debra Kanter
Dennis Karmazyn
Roland Kato
Patricia Kindel-Heimerl
Igor Kiskatchi
Carol Kleister-Castillo
Armen Ksajikian
Laura Kuennen-Poper
Connie Kupka
Janet Lakatos
Timothy Landauer
Michael Lang
Dimitrie Leivici
Kathleen Lenski
Gayle Levant
Peter Limonick
Isabella Lippi
Dane Little
David Low
Warren Luening
Andrew Malloy
Edie Markman
Michael Markman
Liane Mautner
Malcolm McNab
Edward Meares
Greg Moore
Bruce Morganthaler
Ralph Morrison III
Kenneth Munday
Dan Neufeld
Mitchell Newman
Barbara Northcutt
Brian O’Connor
Michael O’Donovan
Robin Olson
Sid Page
Joe Porcaro
Andrew Radford
Thomas Raney
Susan Ranney
John Reynolds
Rafael Rishik
Susan Rishik
Anatoly Rosinsky
Robin Ross
Sheldon Sanov
Allen Savedoff
James Sawyer
John Scanlon
Steven Schaeffer
David Searfoss
David Shostac
Haim Shtrum
Paul Shure
Margaret Sims
David Speltz
Eve Sprecher
Sheryl Staples
Sheridon Stokes
Polly Sweeney
George Thatcher
James Thatcher
Richard Todd
Sebastian Toettcher
John Walz
David Washburn
Miwako Watanabe
Roger Wilkie
Donald Williams
Ralph Williams
Jerry Williams
Jennifer Woodward
Kenneth Yerke
Galina Zherdev
Paul Zibits
Mihail Zinovyev
Shari Zippert